Tag Archive : oregon

If you’re thinking about texting and driving, I would stop to think twice. Just pull over. Especially if you’re in the growing number of states that are putting laws in place to penalize those that text while driving.

Oregon is now implementing a new law that penalizes the distracted driver with the following:

  • $1,000 for your first offense
  • $2,500 for your second offense
  • Another $2,500 and up to 6 months of jail time for your third offense

“Distracted driving, especially with cell phones, is a major problem out on the roads. It’s contributing to an awful lot of crashes out there,” Don Hamilton, a spokesman for the Oregon Department of Transportation, told KGW.

This new law isn’t just for cell phones. It also applies to computers and tablets, and even GPS devices.

The bottom line is to not drive distracted.